These are the Canadians whose clocks don’t spring forward or fall back

An extra hour of sunshine? Who needs it? Not these places with stubbornly consistent clocks

Nothing reveals a Saskatchewanian’s pride of province more obviously than a conversation about clocks. “Daylight saving time?” they’ll ask, a scowl betraying their next words. “No thanks.” As most of Canada springs forward on March 11 at 2 a.m., revels the next day in an extra hour’s sunlight, and waits until the dismal days of November to turn their clocks back, Saskatchewan maintains its composure—and consults The Time Act. Most of the province follows central standard time and doesn’t observe daylight saving time. There are exceptions along its borders. Lloydminster, Sask., a city that also claims part of Alberta, received a charter that allows it to follow wild rose country into the land of DST. Creighton and Denare Beach, a couple of communities on the province’s eastern edge that can appeal to no such charter but might just feel a special affinity for nearby Flin Flon, Man., can’t resist that extra hour and remain on the same time as the province to the east.

Creighton and Denare Beach aren’t alone in going against the grain. Parts of three other provinces and a territory go the other way and defy daylight savings. A section of B.C.’s Peace River Regional District that lies in the mountain time zone—the vast majority of the province sits in the Pacific zone—doesn’t touch its clocks. Three towns in northwestern Ontario sit in the central time zone, but eschewing daylight savings allows them to join the rest of the province in observing eastern time all year long.

All that to say: Happy daylight saving, (most of) Canada.

This map pinpoints the Canadian places that don’t do DST.