Here are the 2017 Parliamentarians of the Year

The recipients of the 2017 awards were announced on Nov. 7 in Ottawa

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, January 3, 2016. -- The House of Commons of Canada is a component of the Parliament of Canada and is a democratically elected body whose members are known as Members of Parliament (MPs). There were 308 members in the last Parliament. (Photo by Thierry Tronnel/Corbis via Getty Images)

(Photo by Thierry Tronnel/Corbis/Getty Images)

On the evening of Nov. 7 in Ottawa, the recipients of the 2017 Maclean’s Parliamentarians of the Year award were announced. Here are the award winners:

Parliamentarian of the year: Garnett Genuis, Conservative

Best represents constituents: Shannon Stubbs, Conservative

Best civic outreach: Scott Reid, Conservative

Most collegial: Rodger Cuzner, Liberal

Best orator: Nathan Cullen, NDP

Hardest working: Kevin Lamoureux, Liberal

Best mentor: Judy Sgro, Liberal

Rising star: Joël Lightbound, Liberal

Most knowledgeable: Hélène Laverdière, NDP

Lifetime achievement: Monique Bégin, Liberal

Watch Maclean’s associate editor Nick Taylor-Vaisey speak with the winners:


Looking for more?

Get the Best of Maclean's sent straight to your inbox. Sign up for news, commentary and analysis.