The race for Toronto-Danforth

Voters will elect a new MP in Toronto-Danforth on March 12 March 19 and the Conservatives would like you to expect a Liberal win.

“Governments do not win by-elections, and as this is a traditional Liberal seat this is theirs to lose,” Delorey said Sunday.

The riding has been contested 12 times since 1976, the New Democrats winning it eight times, the Liberals winning it four times. As for the idea that governing parties tend to not win by-elections, I debunked that notion two years ago here and here.

Looking for more?

Get the Best of Maclean's sent straight to your inbox. Sign up for news, commentary and analysis.