2012 Parliamentarians of the Year

Elizabeth May named Maclean’s Parliamentarian of the Year.

And the POTY goes to …

Related photo galleries:
The 2012 Parliamentarian of the Year Awards
Spotted at the POTYs
Parliamentarians in conversation with Paul Wells: A video series.

And … even more coverage here.

Members of Parliament voted. Ipsos Reid tallied the numbers. And 2012s’s best of the best emerged. Just like that, Maclean’s and L’actualité named seven parliamentarians who accomplished an outstanding feat—they got colleagues from across party lines to, yes, vote for them. Indeed, they couldn’t win without impressing some of their fiercest opponents in the House of Commons. Here are the winners.

Parliamentarian of the Year

Elizabeth May, Saanich-Gulf Islands

First Runner-up: Hon. Bob Rae, Toronto Centre
Second Runner-up: Rodger Cuzner, Cape Breton—Canso

Hardest working

Kirsty Duncan, Etobicoke North

First Runner-up: Olivia Chow, Trinity-Spadina
Second Runner-up: Jason Kenney, Calgary Southeast

Best Orator

Hon. Bob Rae, Toronto Centre

First Runner-up: Charlie Angus, Timmins-James Bay
Second Runner-up: John Baird, Ottawa-West Nepean

Most Collegial

Peter Stoffer, Sackville—Eastern Shore

First Runner-up: Rodger Cuzner, Cape Breton—Canso
Second Runner-up: Kirsty Duncan, Etobicoke North

Most Knowledgeable

Right Hon. Stephen Harper, Calgary Southwest

First Runner-up: Peter Julian, Burnaby-New Westminister
Second Runner-up: Joe Comartin, Windsor-Tecumseh

Rising Star

Michelle Rempel, Calgary Centre-North

First Runner-up: Ted Hsu, Kingston and the Islands
Second Runner-up: Alexandre Boulerice, Rosemont—La Petite-Patrie

Best Represents Constituents

Niki Ashton, Churchill

First Runner-up: Cheryl Gallant, Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke
Second Runner-up: Bruce Hyer, Thunder Bay-Superior North

How did voting work? Ipsos Reid asked all members of Parliament to nominate the best MPs in each of seven categories. MPs cast votes for members both in and outside their parties. The votes were converted to a point system to ensure that larger parties did not have an advantage. The MP who received the most points in each category won. The MP who earned the highest number of total points was named Parliamentarian of the Year.

Maclean’s and L’actualité also recognized an eighth (former) parliamentarian this year.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Preston Manning, former MP for Calgary Southwest

By the way, here’s our formerly live blog of the proceedings:

Looking for more?

Get the Best of Maclean's sent straight to your inbox. Sign up for news, commentary and analysis.