A small step toward e-petitions (maybe)

An NDP MP’s motion is endorsed by the House

By a vote of 142-140, NDP MP Kennedy Stewart’s motion calling for a study of e-petitions passed the House this evening.

The New Democrats, Liberals and Greens voted unanimously in favour and were joined by eight Conservative MPs: Kyle Seeback, John Williamson, Brad Trost, Maurice Vellacott, Michael Chong, James Rajotte, Leon Benoit and Gerry Breitkreuz.

Mr. Stewart, along with two of his assistants, has argued the case for his bill in an essay in Canadian Parliamentary Review. The British Parliament adopted e-petitions in 2011 (here is a briefing note on how that has gone).

Looking for more?

Get the Best of Maclean's sent straight to your inbox. Sign up for news, commentary and analysis.