Shadow shuffle

As noted from the outset of the race, any NDP MP seeking the leadership must give up his or her critic portfolio. The resulting shuffle to date goes as follows:

Helene Laverdiere has replaced Paul Dewar on foreign affairs, Claude Gravelle has replaced Romeo Saganash on natural resources and Joe Comartin replaces Thomas Mulcair as House leader. Jack Harris then takes Mr. Comartin’s spot on Justice and David Christopherson takes Mr. Harris’ spot at Defence.

Matters will get still more complicated if Peggy Nash and Robert Chisholm both enter the race, forcing the NDP to name new critics for finance and international trade.