Maclean’s in Conversation: Paul Wells sits down with Don Iveson

The mayor of Edmonton joins Maclean’s senior writer Paul Wells to discuss the plethora of challenges the COVID-19 pandemic has brought to cities

In a lot of ways, the fight against COVID-19 has taken place on the streets of Canada’s cities. Mayors have had to wrestle with the needs of business and the health-care system and issues of transit, homelessness and social services. Edmonton mayor Don Iveson, chair of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities’ Big-City Mayors’ Caucus, will talk about these challenges with Maclean’s senior writer Paul Wells.

The conversation will air on Monday, Feb. 8, 2021 at 7 p.m. ET on the Maclean’s Facebook page and YouTube channel, as well as at

Presented by the Canadian Bankers Association in partnership with the National Arts Centre.

Past guests include:

January 2021: EJ Dionne Jr. and Maryscott “Scotty” Greenwood discuss the dawn of the Biden era
December 2020: Jagmeet Singh
December 2020: Historian Margaret MacMillan
November 2020: Erin O’Toole, leader of the Conservative Party of Canada
November 2020: Annamie Paul, Leader of the Green Party of Canada
October 2020EJ Dionne Jr., Maryscott “Scotty” Greenwood, Eugene Daniels and Carlos Lozada
October 2020: Investigative journalist Justin Ling on serial killer Bruce McArthur
September 2020: Federal environment minister Jonathan Wilkinson
July 2020: Dr. Catherine Hankins and Dr. David Naylor, members of the COVID-19 Immunity Task Force
June 2020: Kevin Loring, playwright, actor, director of Indigenous Theatre at the NAC
June 2020: Guest host Desmond Cole with panelists Esi Edugyan, Robyn Maynard, Syrus Marcus Ware and Ian Williams
June 2020: Carol Anderson and Kevin Young
June 2020: Parliamentary budget officer Yves Giroux & Information Commissioner Caroline Maynard
May 2020: Health minister Patty Hajdu
May 2020: Alberta Premier Jason Kenney
April 2019: Bank of Canada governor, Stephen Poloz
February 2019: Canadian ambassador to the U.S., David MacNaughton
December 2018: Former prime minister Jean Chrétien
November 2018: Alberta Premier Rachel Notley
September 2018: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
June 2018: Jane Philpott, former minister of Indigenous services.
May 2018: Jason Kenney, leader of Alberta’s United Conservative Party (current Premier of Alberta)
April 2018: Katie Telford, chief of staff to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
March 2018: Conservative leader Andrew Scheer
February 2018: NDP leader Jagmeet Singh