The endorsements

Paul Dewar announced the endorsement of Charlie Angus this morning in Ottawa: the second prominent caucus endorsement for Mr. Dewar in two days.

Eric Grenier is attempting to make a science of the wider race for endorsements, but given this blog’s purview I’m most interested in caucus endorsements. By my count, 59 NDP MPs are now declared for leadership candidates. Excluding the seven MPs who are running and Olivia Chow (who has pledged to stay neutral), that leaves 34 NDP MPs left to be courted.

At the outset of the campaign, I was advised by a senior New Democrat that who was doing the endorsing was more important than how many were endorsing, so sheer numbers may be misleading, but here’s how the 59 breakdown.

Thomas Mulcair (35) Robert Aubin, Paulian Ayala, Tarik Brahmi, Sylvain Chicoine, Anne-Marie Day, Matthew Dube, Pierre-Luc Dusseault, Rejean Genest, Jonathan Genest-Jourdin, Sadia Groguhe, Dan Harris, Sana Hassainia, Pierre Jacob, Matthew Kellway, Francois Lapointe, Alexandrine Latendresse, Helene Leblanc, Wayne Marston, Marc-Andre Morin, Marie-Claude Morin, Pierre Nantel, Jamie Nicholls, Jose Nunez-Melo, Annick Papillon, Claude Patry, Eve Peclet, Marion Perreault, Francois Pilon, John Rafferty, Mathieu Ravignat, Jean Rousseau, Djaouida Sellah, Philip Toone, Jonathan Tremblay, Don Davies.

Brian Topp (11) Isabelle Morin, Charmaine Borg, Jean Crowder, Kennedy Stewart, Alexandre Boulerice, Yvon Godin, Alan Giguere, Libby Davies, Francoise Boivin, Jinny Simms, Jasbir Sandhu.

Peggy Nash (6) Anne Minh-Thu Quach, Randall Garrison, Denise Savoie, Dany Morin, Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet, Mike Sullivan.

Niki Ashton (3) Francine Reynault, Francois Choquette, Jean-Francois Larose.

Romeo Saganash (2) Christine Moore, Pierre Dionne Labelle

Paul Dewar (2) Linda Duncan, Charlie Angus.

Nathan Cullen (0)

Martin Singh (0)

Looking for more?

Get the Best of Maclean's sent straight to your inbox. Sign up for news, commentary and analysis.